President's Executive Staff

Tim Sands

Tim Sands, President
Office of the President

Phone: 540-231-6231

Cyril Clarke, Executive Vice President and Provost
Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost

Phone: 540-231-6122

Clarke was named executive vice president and provost in 2019.  He was previously dean of the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine.
Read more.

Dwayne Pinkney

Dwayne Pinkney, Senior Vice President and Chief Business Officer
Office of the Senior Vice President and Chief Business Officer

Phone: 540-231-7912

Pinkney joined Virginia Tech in 2018 after spending 14 years at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

Charlie Phlegar

Charlie Phlegar, Vice President for Advancement
Advancement | University Development

Phone: 540-231-7676

Phlegar, a Virginia Tech graduate and Blacksburg native, became Vice President of Advancement in 2015.
Read more.

Menah Pratt-Clarke

Menah Pratt-Clarke, Vice President for Diversity, Inclusion, and Strategic Affairs

Phone: 540-231-7500

Pratt-Clarke brings more than 20 years of administrative, academic, and legal experience to Virginia Tech.
Read more.

Don Taylor

G. Don Taylor, Interim Vice President for Research and Innovation

Taylor, vice provost for learning systems innovation and effectiveness and the Charles O. Gordon Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering in the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech, serves as the university’s interim vice president for research and innovation. Read more.

Dwight Shelton, Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer
Phone: 540-231-8775

Shelton joined Virginia Tech in 1979 and has served as the director of internal audit, university controller, university budget director, and associate vice president.

Cheryl Peterson

Sandee Cheynet, Acting Executive Director of the Office of the President